Angebote zu "Tibet" (16.030 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops [Filter löschen]

Sky Train: Tibetan Women on the Edge of History...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Through a lyrical narrative of her journey to Tibet in 2007, activist Canyon Sam contemplates modern history from the perspective of Tibetan women. Traveling on China´s new ´´Sky Train´´, she celebrates Tibetan New Year with the Lhasa family, whom she´d befriended decades earlier, and concludes an oral-history project with women elders. As she uncovers stories of Tibetan women´s courage, resourcefulness, and spiritual strength in the face of loss and hardship since the Chinese occupation of Tibet in 1950, and observes the changes wrought by the controversial new rail line in the futuristic ´´Lhasa´´, Sam comes to embrace her own capacity for letting go, for faith, and for acceptance. Her glimpse of Tibet´s past through the lens of the women - a visionary educator, a freedom fighter, a gulag survivor, and a child bride - affords her a unique perspective on the state of Tibetan culture today - in Tibet, in exile, and in the widening Tibetan diaspora. Gracefully connecting the women´s poignant histories to larger cultural, political, and spiritual themes, the author comes full circle, finding wisdom and wholeness even as she acknowledges Tibet´s irreversible changes. The book is published by University of Washington Press. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Donna Postel. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/000962/bk_acx0_000962_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Sticky Teams: Keeping Your Leadership Team and ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Serving as a church leader can be a tough assignment. Whatever your role, odds are you’ve known your share of the frustration, conflict, and disillusionment that comes with silly turf battles, conflicting vision, and marathon meetings. No doubt, you’ve asked yourself, ´´How did it get this way?” With practical and accessible wisdom, Larry Osborne explains how it got this way. He exposes the hidden roadblocks, structures, and goofy thinking that sabotage even the best intentioned teams. Then, with time-tested and proven strategies, he shows what it takes to get (and keep) a board, staff, and congregation on the same page. Whatever your situation; from start-up phase, to mid-sized, to megachurch, Osborne has been there. As the pastor of North Coast Church, he’s walked his board, staff, and congregation through the process. Now, with warm encouragement and penetrating insights, he shares his secrets to building and maintaining a healthy and unified ministry team that sticks together for the long haul. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Don Hagen. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/zond/000531/bk_zond_000531_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Tibet - In a Nutshell , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 79min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´In a Nutshell´, the new audiobook series from Naxos AudioBooks, continues with a fascinating history of Tibet. Part of China for many years, yet with a clearly distinctive culture (with the central devotion of its people being to Buddhism and the Dalai Lama), Tibet has a unique character in the panoply of world nations. Here we have an independent view of its history and the customs and beliefs of its people - and a commentary on the current situation. PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio. 1. Language: English. Narrator: David Rintoul. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/naxo/000519/bk_naxo_000519_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Invading Tibet , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 295min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In 1904 a force of 2,500 British Imperial troops invaded Tibet. Their mission was to march on the fabled capital of Lhasa and seize its ruler and spiritual head, the Dalai Lama, and compel him to expel foreign provocateurs. All this was but another strategic deployment in the Great Game being played by the major European powers as part of their international one-upmanship and global jousting. The soldiers were accompanied by London journalist Edmund Candler, who reported the experiences of the invaders (and published them in a book afterward: The Unveiling of Lhasa). As Candler notes, the further into the country they march, the odder things get, and the less certain they become of their mission. Tibet seems a cryptic place, full of magic and menace, rocks and snow, and natives that look like clay. Most of the time it is as if they, the Westerners, are invading nothing. Tibet seems an awesome emptiness bounded by soaring mountains, yet something is there, awaiting them. But it is more like a rendezvous - an appointment with a metaphysical reality far greater than the Europeans´ mechanistic concept. The Tibetan troops who resist are easily dispatched by the invaders´ superior weapons, yet it is the English who are unnerved. The fallen defenders do not cry out, they do not weep. The deeper the British trek, the more penetrated and undone the soldiers feel. The commanding officer grows sick and weaker the further they advance, as if he himself were violated by the incursion. Some of the men under his command become contentious, others lust for punitive combat with no quarter given. Yet, as Candler observes, the enemy they most often engage is themselves. Unlike the rest, Candler is enthralled - mesmerized by the extraordinary terrain and events; it is obvious to him that no objective awaits the invasion force in Lhasa, despite what the officers insist. Yet he continues on with them, drawn by the ineffable beauty and mystery of this fabled 1. Language: English. Narrator: Antony Ferguson. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/010576/bk_adbl_010576_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Stick Dog Tries to Take the Donuts , Hörbuch, D...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Stick Dog series continues in Tom Watson´s hilarious Stick Dog Tries to Take the Donuts! Stick Dog and his team of strays are off on another outrageous canine caper. To snatch some breakfast treats for his hungry pals, Stick Dog will need to stop a moving truck, outfox a man on a telephone pole, and calm down a very caffeinated Karen. But that´s not all. He´ll also need to manage the greatest confrontation in history when his good friend, Poo-Poo, comes face to face with the ultimate enemy - a squirrel. With Stick Dog´s smarts, daring, and loyalty - and patience - he just might lead his buddies to the best breakfast ever. Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books. It´s morning. The dogs are hungry. It´s time to take the donuts! PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Andrew Eiden. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/harp/004863/bk_harp_004863_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Stick Dog Wants a Hot Dog , Hörbuch, Digital, 1...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In this second book, Stick Dog is at it again - and he´s hungrier than ever. He and his four friends, Poo-Poo, Mutt, Stripes, and Karen, must execute a master plan to steal some hot dogs. But the closer they get to the hot-dog vendor, the more obstacles they meet, including:A team of raccoons that wants the hot dogs, tooHot-dog-snatching plans that are a little, umm, not so hotA dognapping...sort of Listeners will delight once again as Stick Dog and his gang of goofballs work to overcome these challenges and more - to satisfy their hunger for hot dogs. PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Andrew Eiden. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/harp/003652/bk_harp_003652_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Magic & Mystery in Tibet: The Classic Account o...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This classic memoir by the remarkable French explorer and Buddhist Alexandra David-Néel is the one of the greatest Buddhist travelogues of the 20th century. She was the first European woman to meet the Dalai Lama (in the 1920s) and in 1924 became the first to enter the forbidden Tibetan capital, Lhasa. She had already spent a decade travelling through China and Sikkim, India; lived and meditated in a cave on the Tibetan border; and everywhere learned about Buddhism from hermits, mystics and bandits. She recalled, ´In the course of my travels, I witnessed unusual events, met strange people and brushed the threshold of a particular spirituality´. In Magic and Mystery in Tibet, Mme David-Néel recorded the mysterious, magical world she encountered. Among the extraordinary practices she described are the Tibetan mystics who could live naked in temperatures below freezing (tumo), monks who covered incredible distances on foot in strange leaps (lung-gom) and others who could seemingly defy gravity. These practices became part of the legends of Tibetan Buddhism, as it became better known in the West - but they were first reported, from firsthand experience, by Mme David-Néel. Her writings proved a great influence on figures such as Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg and Alan Watts. What makes this audiobook a classic is that she was not just an observer or a travel writer but a meditator and practitioner, respected by the lamas and monks she met. Her descriptions of Tibetan Buddhism, though dating from a century ago, ring true now, even with our greater contemporary awareness and understanding. Despite her decades of life travelling, often in great hardship, across the Far East and Central Asia, she lived until the age of 101, dying in her home country of France. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Nicolette McKenzie. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/dhrm/000033/bk_dhrm_000033_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Seven Years in Tibet , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 698min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A landmark in travel writing, this is the incredible true story of Heinrich Harrer’s escape across the Himalayas to Tibet, set against the backdrop of the Second World War. Heinrich Harrer, already one of the greatest mountaineers of his time, was climbing in the Himalayas when war broke out in Europe. He was imprisoned by the British in India but succeeded in escaping and fled to Tibet. Settling in Lhasa, the Forbidden City, where he became a friend and tutor to the Dalai Lama, Heinrich Harrer spent seven years gaining a more profound understanding of Tibet and the Tibetans than any Westerner before him. Seven Years in Tibet was translated into 53 languages, became a best seller in the United States in 1954, and sold three million copies. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Mark Meadows. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/004296/bk_adbl_004296_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Die Tibet-Verschwörung, Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 10...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Das Unglaubliche scheint wahr zu werden: Gewisse politische Kreise Chinas unterbreiten Tibet ein Friedensangebot und laden den Dalai Lama zu Gesprächen ein. Doch zwei Amerikaner entdecken, dass es sich um eine Falle handelt. Es gibt nur eine Möglichkeit, eine Katastrophe zu verhindern. Der Schlüssel dazu ist ein tibetisches Heiligenbild. 1. Sprache: Deutsch. Erzähler: Manfred Callsen. Hörprobe: http://samples.audible.de/bk/tsdr/000602/bk_tsdr_000602_sample.mp3. Digitales Hörbuch im AAX Format.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot